Marans chick with brown wing bay.

BlueTheBrahma

Songster
Sep 2, 2021
I had never hatched out Black copper marans chicks before, but have been interested in the breed for over a year now, so decided to buy some hatching eggs. They are now currently almost three weeks old, and I have noticed that one of them (probably cockerel due to a lack of tail and pin feathers) has developed brown/gold spots on its covert feathers, and brown streaks on the visible side of its secondary feathers. I don’t have a picture at the moment, but know that brown wing bays are classed as a defect for BCM roosters. Does anyone know if their will grow out or am I stuck with it? I ordered eggs from two breeders, so may be luckier with another cockerel because I think I have at least two.

Thanks.

A picture might be helpful. I'm new to the breed as well, so I'm not sure. It does sound like leakage though. Either way, on this bread, the rooster has more copper than the hen.

My BCM cockerel at a couple weeks vs four months
IMG_20220627_201911623~2.jpg
IMG_20220413_074215860.jpg

I had never hatched out Black copper marans chicks before, but have been interested in the breed for over a year now, so decided to buy some hatching eggs. They are now currently almost three weeks old, and I have noticed that one of them (probably cockerel due to a lack of tail and pin feathers) has developed brown/gold spots on its covert feathers, and brown streaks on the visible side of its secondary feathers. I don’t have a picture at the moment, but know that brown wing bays are classed as a defect for BCM roosters. Does anyone know if their will grow out or am I stuck with it? I ordered eggs from two breeders, so may be luckier with another cockerel because I think I have at least two.

Thanks.
black copper marans chicks should be pure black ,if they have a brown feathers or marking at the young age ,than they will be over colored cockerel, mean too much copper all over they body .