homemade hotwire set-up

cptbahama

Songster
9 Years
Jan 13, 2011
augusta, georgia
An electrician showed me how to do this. It's pretty simple, even for electrically-challenged folks like myself.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a pro and all that other stuff I should say <insert here>.

This is set up on a post, to jolt a climbing predator. I first used it on my bird feeder post. Raccoons kept climbing it to get the sunflower seeds and steal the suet cakes. I installed this hot wire set-up on the post. *They don't climb it anymore*.

I'll try and explain it...

But first you will need:

staple gun
3 pieces of bare copper wire at least 4' long depending on the diameter of the post you are installing this on
wire cutters/ strippers
wire nuts
electrical tape
one piece of insulated wire about one foot long
power source
daring critters

First, you have to have a 120 volt power source (any standard power outlet). Run a drop cord from the house, barn, pump house or garage to your coop. But DO NOT plug it in until you are finished with the set-up.
Next, find an old extension cord you don't mind cutting. The easiest and cheapest are the indoor versions, usually brown, with two wires. One wire will be the "hot" and the other wire will be the neutral. If you use a drop cord, they usually have three wires (hot, ground, neutral).

So you have a post, in this example a cedar post 5" in diameter and 5 feet tall.

Take the three pieces of bare copper wire and wrap them around the post about midway up, with the top wire about chest high, leaving a few inches between the bottom wire, the middle wire and the top wire. This is where a pic is needed..

76677_dwg_1.jpg