MStar

In the Brooder
May 19, 2018
Los Angeles, California
Hello fellow chicken people!

I've been scouring this site for a long time. All of you are such a wonderful community and a great source of information! So I finally decided to become a part of it. Here's a little novel about our chicken adventure.

I'm fairly new to chickens. We first got chickens from MyPetChicken 7 years ago and had only hens for a few years in Northern California. Then we moved to a Southern California apartment and I had to give them to my mom, so they would have a backyard. Unfortunately, there were a few hawks in the area, so they quickly disappeared :(

We got a house a few years back and so last year we decided to get chickens again. We ordered from MyPetChicken to get all hens and got 2 non-bearded Silkies (Snow White & Pippi), 1 Favaucana (Libby), 1 Blue Splash Maran (Coco), 1 Golden Laced Wyandotte (Goldie), and 1 D'Uccle Mille Fleur Bantam(Glory). I got our old coop/run back from my mom, and we tragically found out all about the predators that exist in urban Los Angeles! Raccoons are smart/vicious here and the cats are fast. We lost our beloved Pippi to a cat while she was free ranging in the back yard. Our sweet Glory was pulled out of the coop by a raccoon through a loose tray. Our favorite, Coco, was attacked by a raccoon in the run, it pulled her and trapped her against the roost/bars, and took a huge bite out of the back of her neck. Poor thing was walking around with part of the skin on her neck fully gone. So now I know about the best bird vet in the area, about chicken surgery, chicken anesthesia, and chicken antibiotics! Coco is just fine now, she's got some funny upturned feathers on her neck and is happy and healthy.