Hen Has Eye Problem, Help!

barberfamducks

In the Brooder
5 Years
May 25, 2014
Colorado
One of our four hens suddenly today has an odd white film on her pupil. She is a blue laced red wyandotte and she will be a year old in May. She has been an extremely healthy and productive hen, and this eye problem doesn't seem to affect her at all. But it is worrying my family and I.

The problem arose around noon today, suddenly, and we tried eye drops two times (one then and one about ten minutes ago) and no effect. She can still see out of it and there is no swelling nor blood. We free range our hens, but they most often stay around the house, and there aren't any low hanging branches or sharp pointed objects. All our hens are extremely friendly to everyone and everything so pecking and such couldn't be the cause. This is my first time keeping a flock and I am lost. Please help! Any advice is greatly appreciated!
fl.gif

I am not an expert on eye problems, but it looks like a cataract. Cataracts can form after eye infection, injury, or after having avian encephalomyelitis as a chick. There is a good link to Google which is called " Eye disorders in poultry" from University of Florida.

I am not an expert on eye problems, but it looks like a cataract. Cataracts can form after eye infection, injury, or after having avian encephalomyelitis as a chick. There is a good link to Google which is called " Eye disorders in poultry" from University of Florida.
Thank you! And I really hope it's not a cataract because from what I've read cataracts can tend to be genetic and we have another blue laced red wyandotte which is this one's sister! I am just worried sick for my little baby and unfortunately can't afford a vet at this time.
hit.gif