Hen can't stand

Roy

Songster
12 Years
Jun 20, 2007
Central Illinois
I really need some help with one of my hens, found your website, hope you can help. I have approx. 2 year old:( white hen thast can't stand. She doesn't seem to be in pain but she just lays there. I picked her up and it feels like her left shoulder joint is out of place. Extents much further outward than the other side. I think the rooster was to heavy for her, is there anything that I can do for her, called vet, don't waste your time with a chicken was their response...Need help fast please...Roy

Apparently this is not the forum I thought it was, I thought you people cared about chickens, or maybe it's just because I'm a newbie. For whatever reason, thanks for nothing...she died this morning

I'm very sorry. Other than to tell you to find a different vet that isn't a jerk, there isn't any other advise I could have given you. Some problems are pretty easy to treat yourself and those types of things are a lot easier to respond to. For other things, you really need a vet. It's not because you are new.

Again, I'm sorry you lost her. And I really would look for a different vet, just so you have someone you can trust in the future.

I'm terribly sorry this happened to you. Please don't think we don't care - I for one wasn't even near a computer yesterday until midnight. We all know how hard it is to watch an animal we care for suffer and not know what to do for it, as I'm sure you can see from many other posts here.
That's an unfortunate response you got from your vet, but an all too common one. The best time to look for a vet for your chickens is before you actually need one. There is a changing trend out there as more vets see that people are keeping chickens as pets.