czarinapl

In the Brooder
Jul 27, 2017
Hi there, I am new to keeping chicks, and my first week of experience has been extremely disheartening. Any help or advice would be very much appreciated.

tl;dr 2 out of 6 4-week-old chicks have died, 2 look like they're at death's door. Providing they survive, can I safely integrate the 2 surviving chicks with any more chicks I get?

I tried my best to find a reputable local farm where we could pick up some chicks, and found an all-organic hatchery that doesn't vaccinate or give chicks medicated feed. A week ago, we drove a short 40 minutes and picked up three Easter Eggers and three Rhode Island Reds, all apparently in good health, bright eyes, clear skin, pecking around and full of energy. We were told they were around 4 weeks old, and about ready to go outside. We got them set up with food and water, came back in about an hour and checked on them - one Easter Egger had died. Ok, that's sad... did some research... bought them a heat lamp (didn't initially because we figured they were old enough to be outside, so didn't need a heat lamp) in case cold was the culprit. Next morning, one Rhode Island Red can't use one of her legs, and she seems uninterested in food or water. The other four chicks weren't bothering her, but we still quarantined her just in case (with her own feed and water right next to her). We put some honey in both her water and the other chicks' water, and fed them yogurt. We also alternated switching out the honey water with apple cider vinegar water. By yesterday, she refused to eat or drink water, so we decided to euthanize her.