Free range with coop for night

4FriedEggs

In the Brooder
Apr 3, 2022
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to raising chickens & also a newbie to East Tennessee. We just moved here a little over 3 months ago from Western New York. This will be our first time raising chickens. We have a rather unique set up in our backyard. It's fully fenced & then it's separated into 2 areas with a fence & gate between the areas. We're going to use one side for the chickens. Basically, they will have free range during the day, & we want to put them in a coop at night for safety. The area has a good amount of shade, but a section also gets plenty of sun. The trees are EXTREMELY tall & we have quite a few. However, I also hear a lot of birds. I'm home all day with our 2 kids so we will definitely be keeping an eye on them during the day. 2 questions, what type of coop for safe keeping at night would you recommend & at what age can we move them to the coop area? Any advice is greatly appreciated, oh we will be getting Easter Eggers & Americauna, total of 8 for now. Thanks everyone