Electric fence questions

Matzwd

Songster
5 Years
Apr 9, 2018
St Louis, Missouri
I am in the process (finally!) of adding electric wires to a chainlink fence. I was originally going to use a solar-powered charger, but my fabulous hubby is running electric out to the coops as we speak. I am going to return the previously purchased solar charger and was thinking of getting the Parmak AC charger (either Mark 8 or Super Energizer 5). The specs on both indicate high-tensile wire, and I've already got poly wire run. Can I use one of these chargers with my poly?

My goal is to keep predators (raccoons, foxes, perhaps pesky squirrels will learn too) out. Should I be concerned about injuring my fence-jumping girls? They typically land on top of the five foot chain link first before continuing to the other side. I'm worried they could ground themselves out on the top of the chain link and step on the hot wire, which is about four inches further out, and cook themselves. I'm new to electric fence, so perhaps this is unlikely. Should I be concerned about this?

The Parmaks (as are most) are low impedance fence chargers, perfectly suitable for use with polywire. Having a great ground will be your biggest considerations, and i wonder about the length of fencing you are protecting. Both of those are sizeable chargers - but perhaps you have very large predators to consider (as I do, using a 30 mile charger in a grassy area to protect less than 1.5 miles of total electrified run)

Chargers of this nature pulse, rather than maintaining a steady charge - if your birds stand on both your existing fence and the new polywire at same time, they should get a sharp jolt - at which point they will jump free, almost uncontrollably. That's only a danger to your birds if they somehow get one foot trapped in the existing chain length fence, which is unlikely - and even then, its probably not going to be permanently damaging.

Should I be concerned about injuring my fence-jumping girls?