Eggs turning during lockdown?

clucknpeck

Songster
7 Years
Mar 15, 2012
I wanted to test my new incubator before I bought eggs, so I put in 4 of my layers eggs. Well a couple are going into lockdown soon, and because I was so excited at the success of my incubator I have eggs I ordered going in.
Will it hurt the eggs that are in lockdown to be turned along with the newly set eggs? Also, can they hatch if i have them in the rack rather than laying on their side?

I'm new to this, so hopefully someone else will chime in with the logistics of how to handle two or more hatches in the same incubator. But my understanding is that the egg turning stops during lockdown.

The new eggs don't really need to be turned till after day 7. That's to keep the embryo from sticking to the side. Early on they are small enough it is safe to not turn them. Also you can hatch upright aswell. Your biggest concern is going to be humidity. I would set humidity at 65 for lockdown then dryhatch your new eggs until their lockdown. Monitor their aircell to make sure it is progressing wait should.

The new eggs don't really need to be turned till after day 7. That's to keep the embryo from sticking to the side. Early on they are small enough it is safe to not turn them. Also you can hatch upright aswell. Your biggest concern is going to be humidity. I would set humidity at 65 for lockdown then dryhatch your new eggs until their lockdown. Monitor their aircell to make sure it is progressing wait should.

This is helpful, thankyou. Do you happen to know eggs shouldn't be turned during lock down?
Will the high humidity depleat the chances of development for the new eggs?

Last edited: