Egg bound vs stopped laying for winter

aking19

Chirping
Jul 31, 2022
Tennessee
I’ve been reading/researching on egg bound hens but I still am unsure whether my girl has stopped laying for the winter or if she is truly egg bound. She hasn’t laid an egg in 4 days and she lays just about every day. She skips a day here and there but never 4 days. She is around 8 mo old, started laying in mid-Sept, all of her eggs are always the same size, shape and color. She seems to be acting normal eating and drinking, also pooping looks normal. No walking funny, squatting or pumping her tail. I felt around in her vent a bit and didn’t feel an egg stuck. I am almost thinking she may have just stopped laying for the winter but this is my first year with chickens and I have read that first year pullets don’t usually stop laying in the winter?! Should I wait it out and see if she lays an egg in the next few days? I don’t know what to expect if/when they stop laying for winter vs actually egg bound. Thank you in advance!

Egg bound hens will look sick, and be actively trying to lay eggs. What breed is your hen? It's normal for egg production to pause. Sometimes a day or sometimes a few weeks. Egg production is affected by many things including feed, water consumption, light, stress, and temperatures, to name a few. I think it's more unusual for hen to lay daily constantly without any breaks. That I've only seen in sex links.

Egg bound hens will look sick, and be actively trying to lay eggs. What breed is your hen? It's normal for egg production to pause. Sometimes a day or sometimes a few weeks. Egg production is affected by many things including feed, water consumption, light, stress, and temperatures, to name a few. I think it's more unusual for hen to lay daily constantly without any breaks. That I've only seen in sex links.