Day 22 and no peeping/pipping

Pennyfeather

In the Brooder
7 Years
Aug 5, 2012
Any advice/words of comfort please?! It's day 22 and I have eggs in an incubator. I can't hear them and there is no sign of pipping :eek:( is there any hope for them do u think? When candled at day 15 a lot of them looked really good. It's my first time hatching!

HI Pennyfeather, I'd give them until day 23. If you've had temperature or humidity fluctuations or issues, it may not work this time. I'm sorry.

I suggest you candle the eggs tonight, and see if there is motion in the air cell, suggestig internal pip has taken place. Don't give up until day 24. I've had them hatch late, but its suggestive that my thermometer was off a degree.

Good Luck, and welcome to BYC!

Hold the eggs against your ear and tap it with your fingernail. If there's a live chick in there, it'll respond by tapping the shell from inside or wiggling around. I've had an entire batch of eggs hatch on day 22-25, under a broody hen. So don't worry, yet.

Thank you all so much for your speedy replies! Much appreciated! I will have a little tap on their shells later and candle them again. I'll have to do this quickly tho won't I as I have been told to not open the incubator after day 18 (I have done to add water tho)

Pennyfeather
Welcome from Mo.
Im right there with you!
Day 20 did get one chick and since... the other 7 eggs....nothing Are they shipped?Mine ate and all else was literallyi perfect so....shipping or heat in shipping the culprit.
Goodluck!

Nothing happening I'm afraid :eek:( we have had eggs from this seller before (local not shipped) and we put them under a broody and they were fine got some lovely chicks. So think it may be a problem with incubator or something we have done.

Well thats very disappoiinting.
hit.gif