Cornish rock butcher time?

Hargraves

In the Brooder
Feb 9, 2016
Vidor texas
Do you HAVE to butcher cornish rocks between 6-8 weeks? Guess I'm disappointed cause I didn't hear of that till my chicks turned 2 weeks old(yesterday)! I gotta get where I don't attatch to my feathered friends so much. Lol Husband says look at them as food and not babies. :(

I'm no expert on meat birds, but I'd imagine the recommended slaughter age relates to the fact that much beyond that (in commercial settings, where they have light and food 24 hours a day or some such set up) the birds would simply become too heavy to support their own weight and have other health problems.

I hope some members will help out, but i would have thought that if you have raised your birds in a manner more akin to a BYC then they should not have grown at quite the same rate as those bred in the meat industry and you could extend their lives a little longer.

At the end of the day though, they are in for the chop so a few more weeks is not really going achieve too much. Your hubby, as with most hubbies, is quite correct!
lau.gif

All the best
CT

Thanks. I'm totally new to chickens so I have tons to learn... From what I've been reading on here, you butcher the chickens when they're young if you plan to eat them.. I thought you could get a couple years of eggs from your laying hens before butchering? Does this just depend on breed or is it the same for all? And are they still suitable to eat at, say, 3 years of age?

I know meat birds grow more quickly than layers.. My previous questions moreso applied to layers. We lost 3 cornish rocks before I discovered I was over feeding them. :(