Cornish cross feeding schedule problems.

Corgo

In the Brooder
Apr 16, 2020
I posted this in the chicks section, but I guess it’s better suited for here. Need a little help with my Cornish Crosses please! This is my first time raising meat chickens, I have raised lots of layers and frankly they are easier I think. Lol I bought 40 and everything was going well. I started picking food up for 12 hours at night on Day 5 after reading instructions to do so. Today is Day 7 .. Well they spend all night up, losing their minds from the lack of food. They are in the brooder with lights on them, it’s in the 30’s/40’s here at night. This morning I found one of the smaller ones trampled from their craziness. What am I doing wrong, how do I fix it? They have plenty, plenty of room in the brooder, I have thermometers down under the lights, they are staying plenty warm and have room to self regulate. They have three fresh water jugs. It’s the lack of food, they pretty much go into a frenzy running over top of and crashing into each other. Should I leave food 24/7 for them until they get old enough to go in the coop? (no lights at night, so they’d sleep)

I use a mother heating pad, I hate lights, they jack up their metabolism too much. you can cut and paste the address from my signature and read up on how I approach this in detail. they need to sleep at night, otherwise taking food away from them is practically torture, IMHO. the only way to get them to sleep at night is to have them in the dark. by using a mother heating pad or radiant heat plate, they get into a natural cycle and have a lot fever problems. I don't remove the food at all and I get zero leg issues. expect to lose one or two here and there, it seems that they are most prone to heart problems. finding ways around the issues is well worth the hassle, once you get it dialed in, it goes pretty smoothly and the results are unbeatable with any other breed.