Chicks drowning in the egg

BarnGoddess01

I [IMG]emojione/assets/png/2665.png?v=2.2.7[/IMG]
10 Years
Aug 5, 2009
north shore of Lake Erie
I'm not exactly sure how to compose the question I'm trying to ask but can someone explain what has actually happened when a chick "drowns in the egg"? I guess what I'm trying to figure out is, how do they drown in there?

Last edited:
I'm gunna go out on a limb here, as I'm fairly new to chickens, & that it has to do with the fact that the chick is too weak to break through the membrane of the egg, to get air to the lungs, as the egg is full of fluid, & if the chick doesn't break through the membrane, to get to the air, it'll drown. Another postulate I see, is that it's too humid in an incubator...

It comes from the humidity being too high during incubation. From what I understand, the excess fluid, in the egg, causes the chick to drown once it pips. The fluid enters the beak and nostrils of the chick and it dies.

I never really understood it until it happened to eggs I hatched. I have been doing staggered hatches for 5 months, but I have had an increase in problems since the weather has changed outside.

I usually reduce humidity between hatch dates, but I have lost several chicks, in the recent hatches, due to drowning.

If the chick pips through the egg and then it is surrounded by the excess fluid, it is like holding it's beak under water. Seriously, if you ever see it happen, it will be perfectly clear.

I have managed to save some, by frequent checking, but some I have not got to in time and you can see where fluid has poured down the side of the egg, below the pip. After opening the egg you can see how wet it was inside.

I've hatched 300+ chicks this spring, and lost maybe 10 this way. And those have been recently, since outdoor humidity has increased. I just need to be more vigilant in controlling my humidity.