Chick starter for my baby quail , does it have enough protein?

Wyogirl

Songster
9 Years
Apr 5, 2010
Cody, WY
I'm new to quail and of course hatched 4 babies without being totally prepared.
I have chick starter that i give my baby chicks , 18% protein, is that ok for the quail?? Do I need to supplement with ?? I can't seem to find any gamebird starter here where I live.
Ayda

I'm new to quail and of course hatched 4 babies without being totally prepared.
I have chick starter that i give my baby chicks , 18% protein, is that ok for the quail?? Do I need to supplement with ?? I can't seem to find any gamebird starter here where I live.
Ayda

chick starter will be fine ...but i would get some game bird starter when your able :) i grow alfa sprouts to maintain their diet after 3 weeks of age easy to grow and 35% natural protein :)

Last edited:
What you feed your birds really depends on what your goals and expectations are. As has been stated in this section repeatedly lately, everyone does stuff differently. However, if you are trying to raise the most effecient, healthy, high producing flock of birds possible, it is best to feed a higher protien feed to young, developing chicks (26 to 30% protien). The first few weeks of the quail chick's life are extremely important since they are growing at such a rapid rate, and developing so quickly. Feeding a low protien, inferior quality feed can really stunt their growth and early development.