Breeding charts

bantams galore

Chirping
7 Years
Aug 5, 2013
I am new to breeding for exhibition. I see all kind of line breeding charts out there, but are they all as good as the other? I am looking at something like these ones. I mean do I just pick one and get at it?

There is no formula for breeding chickens. And, first, you have to have a reason or some goals. Are you breeding for production? Exhibition? Color/genetics reasons? These charts are a guide only once you have an objective. You don't have to follow any of them. Even if you do, you will find that "the best laid plans" get sidetracked. Disease? Predators--animal or human? Changes in your vision based on exhibition results? Loss of the ONLY rooster you saved?

If you do have an objective, then select a chart you can live with. Do you realize how long it takes to follow one of the "plans"? Most folks don't and they get pretty frustrated early on. Most don't get past the second generation, if that far.

In any event, whatever YOU decide based on your objectives, have fun! Just don't become a slave to a plan when circumstances dictate that you CHANGE that plan.

Shannon

For me the goal is exhibition. I am looking at the charts and thinking that it depends on what you start with, which one you pick.

The cousin plan seems to blend every one of the 4 birds equally, so they would all have to be exceptional.

The 1/2 brother- 1/2 sister plan is really linebreeding to the male, because he is the same in both female lines, so If it is a male that I want to save the genes of, I might use that plan.

The skip generation plan linebreeds to the male, but uses grand sire to grand daughter, which is the same coeffient of inbreeding, but it is more risky, because you have some birds that have to live two years without getting eaten, or died, or something.