Best way to bond rabbits?

Nutcase

Songster
7 Years
Dec 2, 2012
Australia
My Coop
My Coop
Hi all, just wondering if you and your knowledge can help me with a quick query about bonding rabbits. I had 2 rabbits (mother and daughter) however the younger one recently died. I am shortly going to take on a friend's 2yo male rabbit and while I have bred rabbits before I don't have much experience with introducing rabbits from different sources. What would be the best way to introduce a male and female pair? The male isn't neutered but I will have him fixed before they are introduced. My female is 6-7yo but in good health and I'm hoping a buddy will increase her quality of life. Appreciate your thoughts!

I'd just also like to say that I have not been on this website for about 2 years so it is amazing to come back and see so little has changed :)

I am not a rabbit expert, but contrary to what a lot of people think, rabbits are not social animals.

I know some people have had success bonding rabbits, but I've never found rabbits to be social animals. When they are young they get along just fine but eventually become dominant/hormonal/aggressive to each other. I had two does about three months old who lived together, until I moved them to a new cage. Then they started mounting each other and pulling fur from each other, so I had to separate them. Sometimes I let two rabbits exercise in a large space together, but I have to keep them away from each other, because they'll start chewing on each other and lunging at each other. Two rabbits may appear to get along or bond but they can change in an instant. One second one will be ignoring the other, and the next second you have one rabbit sinking its teeth into the other's side. I'm not saying bonding can't work, but I don't think it could ever work for any of my rabbits and it would be very risky.