AnnasHens

Chirping
Feb 12, 2021
Hi everyone, this is my first post so hopefully I manage to land it in the right place and get everything right!

I was hoping some of the duck experts on here might be able to help. We bought some lovely ducks from our local farm advertised as ‘Indian Runners’ at about 6 weeks old in August. They now have all their adult feathers and are both drakes. I have been wondering about their colourings which has led me to question whether or not they are actually Indian runners and if they are some sort of cross breed. I think they look way too chunky around the neck and breast area and have a much more horizontal stance than a Runner. My general experience is with chickens; I am totally new to ducks and learning as I go. I am just really interested to try and work out what breed or crossbreed of ducks we are looking after. I feel slightly fraudulent at the moment telling people I have Indian Runners when I don’t think they actually are haha!

Will try to post some photos here as well (hopefully it works). There are a couple of photos where their full feathers hadn't quite come in but I think it's clear where they have. If anyone has any thoughts on breeds and/or colourings it’d be great to hear.

Thanks in advance! :)

Attachments

• File_002.jpeg
    File_002.jpeg
    994.4 KB · Views: 92
  • File_008.jpeg
    File_008.jpeg
    948.6 KB · Views: 75
  • File_010.jpeg
    File_010.jpeg
    755.5 KB · Views: 66
  • File_013.png
    File_013.png
    5.2 MB · Views: 70
  • IMG_4574 - Copy.jpg
    IMG_4574 - Copy.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 77