Are Chicken Tractors Safe for Meat Birds?

jso2

Hatching
6 Years
Apr 3, 2013
Hi all,

Although I currently have layers, I'm new to the whole meat bird thing. I have 18 meat birds arriving soon and am confused about how to safely raise them. We have read a lot about using chicken tractors to raise our meat birds in (once they're ready to be outside all of the time), and it sounds great. I am only confused about one thing: if the birds live in the tractors 24/7, how do you keep them safe at night? I know there's a cage wall/ceiling and all of that, but isn't it a problem for predators to dig underneath at night?

When we built our layers' coop, we dug down 6" and started the fence there to keep out diggers. But nothing I've read anywhere mentions this being a problem for the meat birds in tractors, and it's confusing me. Is it b/c when you move the tractor each day the predator has to start a new hole each night, so that's what keeps them out? Or am I missing something?
idunno.gif
Or do people lose a lot of chickens in tractors due to predators?

Any advice would be appreciated. I'm a newbie.

I forgot to mention, we were planning on a design like Joel Salatin's tractors. He appears to keep his hundreds of meat birds in their simple tractors day and night, seemingly without a problem. This is the type I'm wondering whether or not they're safe. Thanks
big_smile.png

Before I started letting my meatbirds free range I kept them in the same type of tractor. We had no problems with predators except for me!!
hit.gif
The first time we moved it I killed about 3 of them because the tractor rolled over the top of them but other than that it was great. Now I just use electrified poultry net and let them go where they want to. If you have a problem with digging predators you can always add a fold down apron that has poultry wire on it. Oh and level ground is pretty important unless you come up with a way to fill the gaps.
smile.png