Adding Pullets

JDonn127

Songster
Jun 25, 2020
Bucks County Pa
I currently have three 17 wk old pullets in the look but not touch stage. My current flock of three white leghorns ( 2 1/2 yr old ) have pretty shown zero interest in the newbies. I thrown scratch to bring them near but they gobble it up and go on their way. My question is how long shall I wait before trying a full integration ?And since I can’t free range what is the best way to do so ? Any and all tips would be greatly appreciated. This is my first time adding to my small backyard flock.

I currently have three 17 wk old pullets in the look but not touch stage. My current flock of three white leghorns ( 2 1/2 yr old ) have pretty shown zero interest in the newbies. I thrown scratch to bring them near but they gobble it up and go on their way. My question is how long shall I wait before trying a full integration ?And since I can’t free range what is the best way to do so ? Any and all tips would be greatly appreciated. This is my first time adding to my small backyard flock.
Hi ! I think 17 weeks is a good time to add the newbies. Add them under your supervision and for 1-2 hour increments. I usually integrate to my larger flock (currently 25 including 4 chicks) at around 9 weeks

So I’ve noticed that about 98% of the videos on YouTube on adding to the flock goes from look but not touch to placing them in the coop on the roosts at night and the next day they are just one happy flock…. Does this really work or is there a good bit of editing done to these videos?

It sounds fairly peaceful so far so you can try letting them interact after a week of see but don't touch, and go from there. If there's not too much aggression they're probably fine as is.