1 hen - 3 roosters. What should I do?

Robinbobbin

Chirping
Jul 31, 2020
Hi everyone,

I’m brand new to chickens and raised four lovely chicks together (now at 12 weeks old) and it seems I have 3 cockerels and one pullet. ☹ They are really close and snuggly with each other and I hate to separate them, but I gather this rooster to hen ratio won’t be good once the boys reach sexual maturity.

I’m looking into rehoming options for my boys, but wondering if I should keep one, just so my girl doesn’t end up all alone?

Can it work to have just one hen and one rooster? (I’m not worried about the eggs being fertilized or not, just about the chickens being happy/healthy).

If I have to rehome all 3 boys, what should I do to keep my girl from being lonely? Should I have other girls ready to introduce to her right away, or wait a bit? Should I introduce girls that are similar age, or younger? I like how well my little flock gets along now, and I’d like to recreate that if possible without starting from scratch with chicks (possibly ending up with boys again).

I would try to keep them all or add in lots more girls to make the ratio work, but I don’t have enough yard space to give 3 roosters adequate territory or add more chickens (4 is really the maximum # I have room for).

I posted something in the rehoming thread but may as well mention it here also so if anyone in the southeast is looking for roosters please let me know (I live in Atlanta, Georgia).

All 3 have a friendly disposition and enjoy interacting with their humans. I am unsure what breed they are, possible copper maran? Possible sex-linked?

pic #1 - Thistle - has been a bit slower to mature and is black with red just starting to come through.

pic #2 - Truck - has a fun and friendly personality with lots of antics.

pic #3 - Peppercorn - is maturing more quickly it seems and is a beautiful black/green/red.

Really sad about this. ☹️

I appreciate any advice, opinions or rehoming suggestions/offers.

- Robin