Week old chick swollen crop, need advice.

Edenfield93

Hatching
May 6, 2024
Hello all,

Hoping for some help. I have a week old chick that appears to have a swollen crop. Still he good energy, eating, drinking, etc. I noticed it very slightly last night but nothing concerning since it was the end of the day.

Today I noticed it was rather large, squishy and not hard, and a small “bald” spot at the top by her neck. I’m very new to owning chickens so everything I’m thinking so far has just been from research this morning. It let me message it gently nothing came up after the light massage. I have isolated in a separate pin to be able to withhold any food or liquids for a few hours. Basically starting initial treatment like sour crop but I have no clue if that’s the case.. all other chicks are fine. anyone else have this issue before and can help that would be great!

Attachments

• IMG_8358.jpeg
    IMG_8358.jpeg
    392.7 KB · Views: 19
  • IMG_8359.jpeg
    IMG_8359.jpeg
    325.5 KB · Views: 3
  • IMG_8360.jpeg
    IMG_8360.jpeg
    319.9 KB · Views: 3
What do you feed, including treats? Do you provide chick grit? What are you using for bedding? Is the crop empty first thing in the morning before the chick eats or drinks?

What do you feed, including treats? Do you provide chick grit? What are you using for bedding? Is the crop empty first thing in the morning before the chick eats or drinks?

For these little ones, pine shavings for bedding, yes to the chick grit, purina starter/grower for food, and mostly just small pieces of whole grain oatmeal for snacks. This is the first time I have noticed this and I handle my chicks daily so I would say yes to the crop being empty in the mornings.