One eye Cloudy, then red "blood clot" type substance in eye. Keeps that eye closed.

Roozeekuh

Chirping
Aug 9, 2014
We have a 5 month old buff orpington that is in a coop with 4 other hens (2 RIR, and 2 other buffs).

I noticed earlier this week that the buff in question was standing around with her eyes closed more often, almost like she was trying to sleep. Then today I went out in the AM and noticed her left eye was closed, and when she opened it, the eye was cloudy.

Then tonight my wife told me another buff was chasing that buff around. I went out to investigate. She was inside the coop by herself in a nesting box. To my knowledge, she has not laid any eggs yet. I was able to snap some pics of her good eye, and the bad eye. The bad eye will be with the eye lid closed, and then some close ups as I'm trying to pry it open to get a pic of the injured/diseased eye.

I would love some input from you guys. I am a brand new chicken farmer and have never dealt with this before.

Do I need to be watchful for a disease? Is it an injury from the others? What can be done?

Here's the normal healthy right eye:

Here's the left eye with lid closed:

Here is the left eye open with dark red tissue? clot?

Last edited:
First, let me say, Welcome to BYC!!
yippiechickie.gif
I believe that your Buff Orpington has an injury to her eye. This is just my opinion, but I think it's other eye wouldn't be so clear and it's comb and wattles wouldn't be such a bright pink if it were due to illness. I can see no discharge from either the eye or nostrils. I would just keep close watch on her and separate her from the others to prevent any further injury, or spread of disease, if that turns out to be the case. Good luck and keep us posted.