Odd egg consistency

KIMBUCK2

Hatching
Jun 14, 2020
Person County NC
Hello, I am a newbie to this group. I am in search of information about some oddities we've seen in a few eggs.

From the outside, the egg looks fine, there is no smell or discoloration. They were maybe 2 weeks old, and we don't wash them, and keep them in a basket in the kitchen with a very consistent rotation process.

What we saw in several eggs from different chicks in the same week was alarming to us. The yolk didn't release from the egg shell when cracked open, and the white at times seemed whiter than clear.

We've gotten in the habit now of cracking the egg in a small bowl prior to mixing with anything else to ensure we are not using these eggs. I am asking for all your experiences to help solve this issue. The ONLY thing I can think of that was different is perhaps they ate the jalapeno seeds that were in the compost (as they love the compost "buffet") while they were free-ranging. Could the impact the egg like this? What else could be the problem. I hate the idea of sharing our eggs if there is any issue at all.

Thanks for your insights
Kimbuck2

Hello, I am a newbie to this group. I am in search of information about some oddities we've seen in a few eggs.

From the outside, the egg looks fine, there is no smell or discoloration. They were maybe 2 weeks old, and we don't wash them, and keep them in a basket in the kitchen with a very consistent rotation process.

What we saw in several eggs from different chicks in the same week was alarming to us. The yolk didn't release from the egg shell when cracked open, and the white at times seemed whiter than clear.