New Member!

JamieSinn

In the Brooder
Apr 28, 2024
Hello!

I've been lurking for a while - but decided to register to get some input on some project ideas I have!

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
New! We bought a house that has a large-ish? chicken coop and run!

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
0 - looking for advice on how many we should get with the chicken coop we have - see below!
It has 12 nesting boxes inside (6 per side)

(3) What breeds do you have?
None - but looking at some ISA Babcock from a local supplier.

(4) What are your favorite aspects of raising backyard chickens?
It's a pet that gives back!

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
Industrial Automation! I'm going to be trying to automate and add a ton of sensors to the coop.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.
I work in the tech industry - so this is definitely a bit of a new path!

(7) Bonus: How did you find BYC, how long have you known about BYC, and what made you finally join our awesome community? :D
Lots of googling - and lots of informative threads on the questions I had!

Coop photo - more here: https://www.backyardchickens.com/threads/existing-coop-feedback-ideas.1621411/

1714347731448.png

Last edited:
Hi Jamie, welcome to BYC. Your setup looks nice.
Do you know how many square feet are in your coop (minus the nest boxes) and run? Ideally you'll want 4 sq foot per chicken in the coop and 10 to 15 sq ft per chicken in the run.

Also, I would cover the top of the run. A solid roof would be best, so that their food and water will be protected from rain and wild bird droppings. My runs are covered in 1/2" hardware cloth top to bottom so that I never have to close my coop doors.

Hi Jamie, welcome to BYC. Your setup looks nice.