Injured Chicken Hiding - What do we do?

AdventureChicken

In the Brooder
Apr 8, 2020
The boys let the terrier out while the chickens (~7 weeks old) were free-ranging and she got some feathers out of one. The injured chicken managed to find a way under the patio and is hiding. Right now, she is withing arm's reach, and we can see her panting. Do we wait and try to lure her out, or try to grab her? Not sure how far under the patio the hole goes, so we are worried about her getting stuck where we can't reach her. We also don't know if anything was broken. No blood on the dog's mouth or the ground, so hoping just some plucked feathers. I don't want to traumatize or injure her more, so leaning towards waiting and seeing if food/dusk will lure her out...?

Do we wait it out? Do the other chickens need to be in the coop all day so they won't find and bully her? We just got our first chickens a couple weeks ago, so total noobs.

Also, any good links to how to evaluate chicken injuries and treat them appreciated. Praying she is okay, minus a few feathers, but I will want to check for broken wings and stuff I'm assuming?

I would try to coax her out on her own first by showing her a treat that she might like. My chickens will run when they sell my red can that I carry a bit of scratch grains or some chopped scrambled egg. If she doesn’t come out you could try to get her out with a broom, but that might risk her getting away. If she seems to be really hurt, that may be necessary. Usually, though they will come out to be with the other chickens and to go opinto the coop in the evening. Vetericyn or a similar wound spray is good for wounds. Chlorhexidene 2% is good, and can be found in most pharmacies. Betadine diluted is also good. Avoid peroxide unless you have to use it, and do that only once.
After cleaning the wound, apply polysporin or triple antibiotic ointment twice a day. Take pictures of any wounds and post them.