Hello from the UK!

Kaiju

Chirping
Nov 7, 2021
Cambridgeshire, UK
Hi! I'm Sam :) (Or Kaiju if you rather)

I am fairly new to poultry. I started with quails, and have recently moved to keeping my absolute favourite animal - ducks! I do not have chickens (yet... lol!).

I currently have a fair few ducklings/young ducks. I have 5 runner ducks, 4 cayuga-mixes, and one pure cayuga. They are all fairly late season ducklings so are still young ish, though I'm not sure at what age they stop being called "ducklings" to be honest. I think they might always be baby ducks to me ;)

Almost all of them all live together... but my one cayuga duck is a bit of a special case. They were the only egg that hatched, and they imprinted on me. Despite my best attempts they are scared of the other ducks, so introductions are going slowly. "Ducky" (very original name, I know) has wound up living in the house with me, sleeps next to my bed (though half the time winds up IN my bed when I'm asleep) and is potentially the most spoiled duck who ever lived.

I currently have 6 Coturnix quails as well! I hope in Spring to hatch some more quail and potentially some bantam chickens. My christmas gift is a Brinsea incubator! :D

Other hobbies I have, I do art (animals/furries), I also breed mice and rats! I enjoy playing video games, playing the ukulele, cooking, and taking far too many naps.

I have a fair few other animals as well. I have a German Shepherd, a Shiba Inu, 6 ferrets, 2 rabbits (one Belgian Hare, one Continental Giant), a fair few fancy mice, rats, Spiny mice, a "blue eyed lucy" royal python, an anerythristic corn snake, a mack snow leopard gecko, and tropical fish. I love animals and looking after them and raising them gives me a sense of purpose, and something to do. I'm disabled and have severe anxiety, and struggle to leave the house, so my animals are a gigantic help in just letting me live my life and feel like I'm doing something.