Chicks w Stuffy Noses & Labored Breathing

Crazy_Coop

In the Brooder
Apr 22, 2024
This is my first time raising chicks and I've done a lot of research however Im feeling very stuck with my chicks right now.

I have 5 chicks and they are 3 maybe 4 weeks old, my worry started when I noticed one of them had stopped eating. I didnt do anything about it for the first day and luckily the next day she started eating again however her growth was slowing down a bit compared to the others. Later that day she began drooping her wings (yes im aware this can be a sign they are hot). I texted a friend who used to be a free range chicken farmer and she advised me to clean the brooder and just keep an eye on them. I did this and then the next day when I took the one who had first worried me out to clean her pasty butt she had diarrhea three times in a row (keep in mind this was within a 15-20 minute period) there was no blood but they where insanely watery and also slightly yellow and foamy. From what I've read sometimes foamy poop can be a warning sign but often isnt anything big. Regardless they where all starting to droop their wings more and more so I decided to start them on corid.

That was a week ago and we are now on day 7 of corid treatment. They have all improved significantly and there are no droopy wings when standing however they continue to do it when laying down (often times one wings is drooping more than the other im not sure if this means anything or if its just due to they way they are laying) I've decreased the temperature and the thermometer is currently reading around 70°F which seems too low for their age and I dont believe they are too hot because they've started fluffing out their feathers which I know is a sign of coldness.