Change my mind

AGDependentFarm

Chirping
Dec 9, 2022
Sylvan Springs, AL
My Coop
My Coop
So reading another post I saw they were running an extremely high protein level for life of the birds. I guess one thing is to determine how long is life. These birds can be culled between 8 and 10 weeks with no growth to be expected later.

I am fairly new to quail, less than 6 months but raised many chickens in my past so not new to birds.
I understand the high proteins up to 8 weeks for growth but after I switched to layer feed 17% protein I think. What benefit is there for feeding the higher cost higher protein feed to a mature bird?
Its not hatch rate as my incubator is full of live peeps...

I keep mine on the high protein food until 11 or 12 weeks because that's when they actually reach physical maturity. The ones that I butcher get it for their whole lives since I usually butcher at about 10 weeks.

They might gain a bit of weight between 10 and 12 weeks, but it's not significant. Getting the high protein for up to 12 weeks for my breeders makes sure that they are healthier and produce better chicks.

I keep mine on the high protein food until 11 or 12 weeks because that's when they actually reach physical maturity. The ones that I butcher get it for their whole lives since I usually butcher at about 10 weeks.

They might gain a bit of weight between 10 and 12 weeks, but it's not significant. Getting the high protein for up to 12 weeks for my breeders makes sure that they are healthier and produce better chicks.
I get that. 8-10 or 10-12. whatever works is fine. but after 12 weeks. If you are using them for eggs do you continue the high protein diet?

Mine get too fat on high protein feed once they're past the growing phase. I also switch to layer feed after about 8-10 weeks, or when the bag runs out.
lol Bag running out isn't my problem. The Quail go through about 75lbs a week and the Chickens about 25lbs. So I get 2 bags per week.... Why do I do this again???