DallasLoneStar

Chirping
May 21, 2019
Dallas, TX
Hi everyone, i am new to BYC and to chickens. We have had five birds for two weeks (acquired at 8 weeks of age): two Easter Eggers and one each Welsummer, New Hampshire, and Barred Rock.

I just got two 14 week old white leghorns last night. I have read a lot about introducing new hens etc but is the pecking order already all that tight in my flock of 5? I guess I am wondeirng with them all being still juveniles and the group of 5 only together for a couple weeks maybe I am over thinking all this?

It's hard for me to tell as a beginner. I know what to look for but all I can tell is that the barred rock seems to be at the top or close to it and then maybe one of the easter eggers. To be honest I never noticed much squabbling among them over food etc. The barred rock is usually the first into and out of the coop at night and in the morning.

Right now the Leghorns are in a 4x4x4 pen inside the run with their own food and water. I guess I am looking for advice on how long I should keep them all separated and then what to do next, working toward full integration. They accidentally (flighty LOL) were mixed in with the rest of them in the run for 10-15 minutes this morning and nothing really happened. The leghorns do seem scared of me and were almost IMPOSSIBLE to catch!

I just posted about introducing new birds, too. I have three red sex-links that are over a year old and just brought in four of the same that are about 18 weeks (one just started to lay). I only had two days of keeping them separate but visible. Currently, after about a week, the three older ones are still chasing them when they see them and pulling at feathers. Nobody has been "hurt" yet, and the young ones just jump up on a low perch in the coop to get out of the way. If I could do it all over, I'd keep them separate but visible for much longer, but I don't have great facilities for doing that.