Total beginner question: how do you bring birds to shows?

thecreekhouse

Songster
Feb 26, 2015
East Tennessee
Hi. I am a total chicken exhibition newbie (haven’t been to first show yet) and I’m trying to help and support my 11 yrold 4-H daughter begin participating in showing and showmanship. But we know absolutely NOTHING at this point. We have everything to learn. So I have lots of questions.

My first one is whether there’s a website or book that exists that’s designed to guide an absolute beginner in learning to exhibit poultry. I’m talking about a resource with every possible detail that an absolute newbie would need to know to participate in the sport of poultry exhibition. Can anyone recommend such a resource?

Second of all, I am wondering how people transport their birds to shows. Are there special exhibition cages for transport or can you use a dog crates or boxes? And then once you arrive at the show, does your bird remain in whatever crate or cage you brought her in or do you move her into a specific cage set up on one of the exhibition tables? How do you know which cage she should be put into? Does she remain in the show cage until the show is over? How do you keep your chicken clean if she remains in a single cage for the duration of the show?

I. Realize that these are absolute beginner questions and my daughter and I appreciate any feedback folks are willing to offer.

A helpful website with information on showing is :

https://www.poultryshowcentral.com/

There’s several articles for beginners on showing.

Go to a few shows and walk around. Talk to breeders. Get a feel for it. Reach out to your 4H leader. I recommend attending several local shows before showing. Let your daughter do the showmanship challenges and meet other poultry fanciers her age.

You’ll see birds showing up in everything from cardboard boxes, dog crates, plastic totes, to professional wooden boxes.