Work/life balance

Erinnlyn

Songster
Aug 21, 2022
Mid-Missouri
Hello!
Ok, so those of you who work from home, or work for yourself, what do you do? I need a work from home job so bad! I want more time for work around the house and more time for family! Also, I hate locking my chickens up for most of the day! I've worked at the same place for 16 years, and it's time for a change! I have a nearly 2 hr commute each day. I'm capable of googling for ideas... but there are so many scams out there -would rather hear from real people! Thanks!! Pics of our huggy bug chickens for tax!:)

Attachments

• 20230805_123240.jpg
    20230805_123240.jpg
    324.4 KB · Views: 31
  • 20230804_153035.jpg
    20230804_153035.jpg
    581.4 KB · Views: 4
  • 20230729_180553.jpg
    20230729_180553.jpg
    486.8 KB · Views: 5
I've been working from home for several years now. My work fundamentally involves programming, so my deliverables are completely electronic. A lot of jobs where you sit at a computer for most of what constitutes the work are easily done remote with zoom meetings instead of face to face ones. The main challenge of course is finding an employer who trusts your remote work ethic. For independent work (which I've also done a bit), finding clients is another challenge on top of that.

Not everyone can manage living and working in the same space as a permanent arrangement; some people need a work space that is separate and away from other life stuff to be able to get into "work mode" and focus. Some people can set that up within their homes. I have a home office that isn't strictly for work but it serves as a "don't bother me" focus area. I don't have hard start-stop times, just a cumulative amount of stuff or hours that needs to get done each day, so I spend my mornings outside then alternate working at a computer and doing things outside the rest of the day. I often work right up until bedtime with that arrangement though.